Why is there such a disparity in price? (Price Mega Thread)

Comments

• I'm in Chicago and want to find out how to a be professional.

• I charge $100/hr partially because of the value my clients get. (I've been doing this as my full time career for 3 years and my clients are not "rich a holes", as I believe someone put it) Part of the reason behind my rates is that I've spent thousands of dollars on certifications and training around this work. I firmly believe in continuing education and and making the quality on par with (but different) than a therapists' session would be. I also offer sliding scale payments for marginalized folx. The standard rate helps off set the cost for those individuals (which is also a common practice in the therapy world). I hope this helps some people understand a little better the difference in price for some practitioners. In many cases you aren't just paying for an hour of hugs. You are also paying for the time and cost of the education that made that practitioner so good at what they do. :)

• It really adds up.
    Can go broke at these rates. One hour is nothing. It goes so fast.

• @melancholy Hopefully one day there will be enough choices all over the country so people can choose someone according to their budget. I am aware that many people don't have a choice, so they have to take it or leave it with who they have =( In the meantime, it's similar to many other self-care practices. A massage isn't cheap either (and again, price varies from one practitioner to another), for example. We also take some things from the therapy industry, some of us offering sliding scale or discounts to qualified individuals, as Keeley mentioned as well. The professionals in this for authentic and genuine intentions, we are really trying the best we can to both value our time, but also take care of our clients and potential clients...