Missed advice growing up

edited October 2021 in General

Is there anything your parents or guardians said to you growing up that you rebelled against & wish you would have listened to now?

Comments

• Honestly, I wish I rebelled a bit more as opposed to listen more lol. I was so shut in and spent time with my mom to the point where I had maybe one friend and almost zero memories to keep from after school and friends. I just watched my mom play the sims, and Pogo online and played Diablo 2 with her. I was the honor student Angel… then when I was thrown into the real world, I got slapped in the face with sooo much shock effect. Sex before marriage, swearing, weed. These things and more were just crazy things to me 😰

• Actually im glad that I listened to my dad at the right time. I was a good student but in high school i got distracted and lost my focus, grades started to go south. Then one night my dad sat me down and had a long conversation. He presented a pretty bleak picture of the future if i dont do well in high school. He said these couple of years will define what kinda life you gonna have. He said party now and you will have a tough life ahead or have tough couple of years now and you can party for rest of your life. Im glad i listened to him. Got my focus back on school. Got into college, graduated with master’s in engineering and from there on its been an upward journey. I now have my own business and make very comfortable living. I still remember that one night discussion with my dad which changed the course of my life.

• edited October 2021