PTSD AND CUDDLING

[Deleted User]LUVS2CUDDLEWITH (deleted user)

DOES CUDDLING HELP PTSD??

Comments

• I'm not a doctor, but probably.

• edited September 2022

I feel the best thing for emotional issues is therapy, and imo cuddling falls under overall general health upkeep: exercise, massage, chiropractic, proper sleep, reading, meditation, positive relationships, setting boundaries etc.

I'm sure all of the latter may have some indirect effect, but is not something you want to depend on to treat an emotional condition. Imo - Cuddling meets a touch quota and is enjoyable - any further claims cannot be proved or is even dangerous. My addition is it helps reduce stress - it kind of slows down the pace of your day (or night).

Humans are social creatures- I think hugging, dancing, cuddling, or even sitting around a camp/bonfire (og HDTV) is good for your overall wellbeing.

• I would say it does, everyone needs that one on one non sexual connection that cuddling can bring. I feel it also brings comfort and peace to many.

• It depends on the individual and where the ptsd was formed from, but yea it can definitely helps. Helps me with mine, being a victim of SA. The more caring touch really helps

• edited September 2022

Generally speaking, I’ve found that it can help; however, with the wrong partner and/or under the wrong circumstances , the results can range from neutral to negative.

Another recent thread addressed the issue of being triggered by a cuddle partner or being triggered during a cuddle session with a partner who is not supportive or understanding (or in my case, one who deflected, blamed, and became defensive and angry).

That said, it’s probably unwise to assume cuddling will take the place of ongoing treatment by a qualified mental health practitioner, and of course it’s certainly unfair to our cuddle partners to go into sessions with the expectation of receiving that level of support.