Quitting smoking before I cuddle again.

So for a multitude of reasons I’ve been working on trying to quit smoking. I’ve had 2 different long term pro cuddles that I met through this site and both expressed at one time or another their dislike of me smelling like cigarettes for our sessions. This is one of the reasons I haven’t cuddled in over 6 months but I’m finding the added stress of quitting combined with the missing stress relief I got from cuddling is making it much harder then I expected.

I currently have a quit coach from my jobs health plan but I’m finding their suggestions lacking. Is there anyone here who has successfully quit smoking after being a longtime smoker who has any suggestions? I’ve been smoking for roughly 20 years and am currently at 2 packs a day but have been at as many as 4 packs a day in the last year.

Thank you in advance

Comments

• [Deleted User]SnuggleSuz (deleted user)

I'm proud of you for putting in the effort needed to quit. I haven't ever smoked cigarettes, but I have had many friends who were long term smokers quit by microdosing psilocybin mushrooms.

• I have not smoked, but I am proud that your taking the first steps. I hope that you are successful!

• I was a long term smoker for about 50 years. I quit many times, but had trouble staying quit. I tried the nicotine patch, and found it to be totally ineffective. Teen, I tried the nicotine gum. BINGO. I haven't had a smoke since. I've been smoke free for 15 years.

I think that two features of the gum that resemble smoking were what did it. I would pop a piece of gum when I felt a need, instead of on some schedule. As with smoking, I was putting something into my mouth. During the time that I was using the gum, I felt no need to smoke. I was still getting my nicotine dose, and that's what I was addicted to.

One word of caution. It took me 3-1/2 years to get off eo the gum. For a while, it seemed as if I had just substituted one addiction for another.