Any coders in here?

edited December 2022 in General

I decided to jump in and learn the basics of programming in C++. It's not part of my school curriculum. I'm learning this on my free time. I have some programming experience with Basic and Java. C++ is one of the most complicated, but also the most powerful.

http://www.hackerrank.com is a good website to go to practice your coding skills.

Comments

• C++ is mostly what I wrote for a living. Yep, much more low level, but if the product I'm working on was written in java (even if it were compiled byte code), there just wouldn't be a product. Performance is critical for some applications, and C++ is king in that domain.

• I have a good handle on C++, though I really don't like it compared to regular C. When I have a choice, my favorite language is Common Lisp.

• Oh come on, would you have more fun with QBasic!

• @Mike403 - wrote in Fortran, Basic, Visual Basic, C, and a bit of both C++ and Assembly. I found Assembly to be the most complicated, as well as the most powerful.

• @GreatHornedOwl - I don't count Assembly because it isn't portable like the other languages. You're writing for a very specific architecture and your code won't run on other CPUs. Most people use C++ if they want high performance and are not limited on what they can run it on.

• edited December 2022

I learned and used C++ and Java years ago, used Java a bit more between them, but also did some Cobol, Multibase, AutoHotKey, VB6, VB.NET, and C# until moving into automation scripting and now mostly use PowerShell and Python while also using Python for doing A.I., machine learning, and data science. Recently started learning Terraform and that's been a new experience to say the least.
    Good luck with C++! There are some great resources out there for learning it.