Relaxing before a cuddle session

edited December 2023 in General

How do you relax before a cuddle session? I usually drink chamomile tea.

Comments

• What I like to do to prepare for a cuddle session is start a quilt. I'm not very good at sewing, so it forces my brain to focus on the task at hand, releasing my emotions into the fabric.

• I'm not usually anxious before cuddles, at all. Where my anxiety lies is before the initial meeting (usually coffee or a walk in the park, or sometimes something more unique like a local attraction). My social anxiety pretty much always makes my hands shake, before these first meetings, even if I've been talking to the person quite a long time.

I will typically call my boyfriend on the drive, and talk through my anxiety with him until I'm about five minutes away. Then I drive in silence the last bit, and just calm my nerves with deep breathing and positive self-talk.

Once I'm with the person, having something to do with my hands helps a lot...a drink to sip on, often just water. Walking and talking helps break the pressure, as well. Being out and about is best, as it gives you constant visual input to comment on and draw attention to.

I also always come to meet-ups stocked with some ice breaker games, should the person be interested in that.

~ Sunset Snuggles

πŸ¦„ Enthusiast 🏞 Travel Fiend 🐘 Animal Lover

πŸŽ„ Merry Christmas to my homies! β˜ƒοΈ

• @SunsetSnuggles I thought the point was Not to break the ice.

Whether it be tea, quilting, or maybe a fifth of bourbon, I would like to know though. I thought over the past couple years it was just social anxiety I was developing, but Im not even good with 1on1 in the first moments anymore.

• @NickWk I would do my utmost to make you feel comfycozysafe. 😌

~ Sunset Snuggles

• @SunsetSnuggles