What professional means to people

Some Karma comments say things like, "She was very professional".

What does being professional mean to you?

Comments

• To me, if that's pretty much all it says, they're trying to be nice and the person was basically just there and allowed the client to cuddle them. I have had a client who left a karma like that for someone else, so I'm basing my response off of what he told me and my instinct of politeness in regards to reviews of people. Basically, the more enthusiastic the review, the more genuine and true it tends to be.

Further, I'm a pro and would rather have other descriptors than "professional" in a review. That says to me I was on time and I did my job. I aim for much more than that. "Professional" feels cold to me when in a review. So that's my answer if your question is in the event that it's just a portion of a longer review.

• Just reviewed my karma. The only place that word is mentioned is in regards to a request of future clients, not of me. Does my karma make you more or less intrigued about cuddling than a pro who has "she was very professional" karma? Your answer answers your question ;-)

• To me, professional means all of the following: on time, clean, receptive, giving, keeps things non-personal, and professional in communications. If there is a disagreement or boundary issue, a professional will communicate these things firmly yet politely without putting a person on the defensive and will apologize even when they've done no wrong. If a professional needs to reschedule, they will communicate this in a professional manner and apologize for the inconvenience offering to make it up to the client; if unforeseen circumstances, such as weather or emergency situations, necessitate a reschedule within the 12-24 hour time-frame, a professional is understanding.
    Diplomacy, in a sense.

This is my view only, of course.