Safety, screening

[Deleted User]Moxytocin (deleted user)

As a pro, I recommend all pros screen thoroughly to avoid putting themselves in unsafe situations. My advice for what to say is to explain discretion vs anonymity. It's perfectly okay and understandable to want to remain anonymous on this website, but you cannot be anonymous to me. I guarantee discretion in that I keep your information private (between you, me, and my safety person). I need to feel physically safe meeting people in a private setting. This real world information is a necessity, no exceptions. If we made this the standard, it would be a lot harder for people to take advantage. There would be fewer people pushing boundaries if we got their real info from the get-go so they couldn't hide behind their alias. If someone refuses to screen, they'll go to the next pro. I don't want to be the next pro when the person doesn't want to screen because they're hiding a violent criminal record. Just a thought.

Comments

• What information specifically do you require, though? Real name backed by some form of evidence is probably reasonable, but should you know my home address and enough information to (hypothetically) take out a credit card in my name before we've even met? The more sensitive the information a pro collects, the greater the risk to the client of identity theft if the pro is either unscrupulous or careless, and the greater the potential liability to the pro if the information is leaked.

I'm not suggesting by any means that you specifically would misuse the information. But if we're discussing setting standards for the community as a whole, we have to assume that just as not all potential clients are safe, not all pros will use personal information responsibly, and so caution is needed for both parties. (That said, I do acknowledge that a pro has more reputation at risk in case of bad behavior.)

• [Deleted User]Moxytocin (deleted user)