@MeltMyWay I agree its definitely a curiosity, but you're right, this is a social site first so I doubt there would ever be an option to block all muted profiles. and that is of course why the block feature is there, for when people are being creepy.
(edited to clarify)
@MeltMyWay If you think some of us are over reacting that’s your opinion. It doesn’t invalidate our experiences or our opinions. I’ll agree to disagree.
Thanks for saying what I was thinking @MeltMyWay and @wilderdude and several others. No one is (or should be) forcing anyone to do anything on this site, we all have free will to NOT care who visits our profiles. To the pros who might be stressing about profile visitors - if they’re interested in a session they will contact you. I don’t think it’s a good look to be pushy or complain about your business slowing down. As always my advice is…we can’t control other people, only ourselves.
Why are y'all so dismissive to her concerns? You can disagree BUT you can't say it's not a big deal bc to her and at least some other pros here, it is.
There's only so much you can do, and there's only so much the maintainers of the site can do. There are probably more people looking at your profile than you even realize. Some will open your profile in a different browser or incognito tab to avoid triggering the "visited" feature. Others have separate accounts they will use to do it. Some people may screenshot, save copies of your photos, save copies of your text for later offline viewing, and who knows what else. It's just like the real world, when you go out into it, you will be seen and documented. You'd probably be horrified to know just how much you're being documented through various methods via all the digital devices you come in contact with or use in your own home. Your phone, Alexa, and all sorts of things. Every conversation you have is listened to by those devices. Data is accumulated on you. Shadow records are real things that track you online even after disabling all the options available to you.
Perhaps some of the other pros don't realize that the intended use of this site has nothing to do with people booking pros. Having pros was added later to up the amount of women coming to the site to be available to cuddle men because there were not enough female enthusiasts. If it's a safety issue my advice is you start blocking any profile that makes you uncomfortable. Most of the individuals visiting your site are not even in the forums. And the site is not going to change how it's set up based off of us be curious and wondering. How exactly is it a safety concern? You can still see their profiles black and report if you need to. I'm genuinely asking. I'm not dismissing your feelings I'm trying to understand why it's an issue that won't be dealt with. There are many other safety issues this site and its owners are not willing to change, I've been here long enough to safely assume this is another non issue to them.
@CaramelNotes because everything some people have an issue are with come with the territory of being on a site like this. You are putting yourself out there.
I don't think the concerns being expressed are invalid, but I do think they highlight a fundamental misunderstanding of the purpose and scope of this site.
I tend to compare this site to the Facebook of cuddling. It started as a social networking platform. Then they added the option for business pages. You don't police people viewing your public business page - it is there to advertise your business, not display your personal life and details. You lock down your personal profile and keep the business page open to all. You can still of course block overt creeps, but with Facebook business pages you cannot see which individuals are viewing your profile when and then use that as a metric for deciding the intentions of their viewing.
If you don't want random people viewing your photos here on repeat, have only your main profile pic visible to all and make the others friends only 🤷🏻♀️ as mentioned above, you can also make your profile viewable to members who are signed in only. You can also mute yourself as well to reduce who interacts with you to people you've established conversations with already. And then just block any remaining folks whom you don't want to view your profile.
If you treat your page as a business page or old school FB page where anyone can view you at any time, you'll likely feel a lot less stressed trying to figure out why each person viewed your profile.
Nah, just very careful after a creepy encounter.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding something here. Is there a system setting that allows one to set your profile to something like "taking a break"? The nearest that I've seen is the "mute" setting referred to by others above.
As far as the OP's original question, there's any number of reasons why a person would continue to browse profiles even when not actively booking appointments. Even when I'm "on a break", I often will review profiles looking for updated notes on upcoming travel, etc, as many MANY pros do travel and update their profiles accordingly. But the only way to see this is to view the profiles.