Could cuddle therapy be a tax deduction?

I have been thinking about ways that cuddle therapy could be more accessible. Obviously, it would be the dream if it was covered by health insurance but being tax-deductible might be the next best thing. According to the IRS, Therapy is a tax-deductible, medical expense and it doesn't specify any particular type of therapy. It also lists other alternatives healing modalities like acupuncture and chiropractic as tax-deductible. According to the article linked below, you can deduct massage therapy if a doctor or medical professional recommends it to treat a medical condition. So I am wondering if cuddle therapy could be deductible if the purpose was to alleviate mental health issues and there was a referral from a doctor or a therapist. Perhaps it could just be deducted as therapy. I am by no means a tax professional and am just speculating. Do any accountants, CPAs, or tax buffs have an opinion on this?

https://theradianttouchspa.com/blog/f/is-massage-therapy-a-medical-expense

https://irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p502.pdf

Comments

• edited January 2022

Someone please correct me if I am wrong but there is no government license for cuddle therapy. If it’s not recognized as an actual form of therapy, I see no way there could be a tax deduction. In the case of massage being a tax deduction, I would assume it would have to be from a licensed massage therapist. I see a therapist once a week who is an actual Dr. Although my insurance pays for most of it, I am able to write off anything I pay out of pocket for therapy. I would be the first guy in line asking my Dr to approve cuddle sessions for me if this was the case.