scifi

2»

Comments

• edited January 7

@Harry01996 That's great. I love your writing style. I think you've got a great scene arc going. That is a pretty clear draft compared to 99% of the people I work with. From an editor's standpoint, it's fantastic. If you want any advice, let me know. Since I'm a developmental editor and the scene is wonderfully put together, my two cents aren't worth much. There's some telling and ramping up why he is uneasy so the reader can feel it would be where I'd edit.

You see, F. M. Esfandiary started going by FM-2030 to break with the tribalistic relic of our past, which he saw as being rooted in collectivism.

Unless you are writing in diary format, a hardboiled noir, or a warm fireside narrator, I would remove the "you see." It distances the reader from the story world. Of course, it's a stylistic choice. When you use the first person, it's to make the reader step into your character's shoes. You want to keep the reader as immersed in the scene as possible. "You see" reminds the reader that they aren't the character.

All in all, it's awesome!

• @lesmis33 I didn't see yours! The same offer applies. Yours is incredibly visceral. I love that style.

• [Deleted User]01001000P (deleted user)

@Lesmis33 thanks. I wanted to convey a sense of paranoia that can be associated when confronted with Internet scams. The idea of receiving a message out of the blue offering something or claiming association happens quite frequently with spam emails and so on.