Appointments?

edited January 2018 in General

Hi friends! I'm new to the site and think it's a great idea, however I've had a number of people contact me and in the first message they request to "schedule an appointment" or something like that.

I'm confused because that seems like they think I'm a professional cuddler?? (which I am not). It also seems to go against the suggested etiquette of approaching people in a low-key, casual way, rather than "cutting straight to the chase ".

Can someone please explain this phenomenon to me? Is it a commonly accepted term that I'm just not familiar with? I tried to do a search but couldn't figure out how to on my mobile.

Thank you!

Comments

• Hi @AngelinPerson and welcome to the site! I used to get messages like that sometimes when I was an enthusiast, and I did not like that approach. Just because there is suggested etiquette doesn't mean everyone has gone through the reference material on this site and read it. I even had it on my profile when I was an enthusiast that I would only cuddle people who had taken the time to get to know me first. Not everyone used to even take the time to read my entire profile, or perhaps not read it at all, and I still received messages like that. That can be your way of screening out people with whom you think you are not compatible.

• That's really not the best way to approach a pro either. The worst has to be a first message that says "How much"?! Ugh...

• [Deleted User]Greybeard (deleted user)
    edited January 2018

@ BlueIris Are you saying that there are guys out there that actually read your profile and then ignored what you said about how you would like to engage with new people? Nothing unusual about that. From my experience with Craigslist and various dating sites, in general, men either do not read to the end of a profile or post, or they just don’t care. Post that you will only meet left-handed men, and get ready for notes that begin , “I’m right-handed, but...”