Tips on Staying Safe?

[Deleted User]schntgai (deleted user)

I hate to bring down the vibe, but let’s face it — meeting a stranger off of the internet puts you in a vulnerable position. I’m not exactly new to this site, but because of apprehension there I haven’t met up with anyone yet.

Does anyone have tips on how to stay reasonably safe (while not necessarily having to stay in public)?

Thanks,
schntgai

Comments

• This is a good question. Personally I am going to meet up with the person I am currently talking to in public before going any further. Maybe I will pick up on some warning signs....or hopefully not. I don't know, I have very little experience with this sort of thing.

Also, I'd love to play you in star trek scene it :P Nobody I know can provide any challenge.

• You can do a phone call or chat on Skype first that usually gives me a good initial impression. Also I use a Google voice number so I can stay safe with that and keep my information private. The obvious meet at a coffee shop or something first is always good advice. Some girls bring pepper spray or some other protective device. Then there is your safety person. Have someone that you text the address that you are meeting at and how long so someone is aware at all times where you are and who you are with.

• ^ that's really good advice. Do you have any advice for someone who removed themselves from all relationships?

• [Deleted User]schntgai (deleted user)

Do you think it’s safer to only meet up with women?

• I have to admit after living with some male roommates and being quite surprised at their behaviour I might have to say I am less comfortable meeting up with men than women. I guess it's kinda crap to be biased against men but I am like this because of personal experience. My sample size is very small though so yeah, take it as you will.

• [Deleted User]curiousgeorge1 (deleted user)