Opinions?

Hello! I'm new to the platform and I just wanted some insight to some things that have been on my mind a lot.
I'm in a relationship and I love my partner very much, but they are asexual and touch averse, meaning they don't really touch me at all, in almost any capacity. I don't blame them, I'm not mad at them, it isn't their fault, but it leaves me touch starved. In our specific relationship, platonic cuddling does not count as cheating, so I'm not worried about that (and tbh I'm not sure I'm even brave enough to follow through meeting someone to cuddle), but I feel guilty about being so needy in the first place. Am I too selfish? Can anyone else relate?

Comments

• You're not selfish. Have a talk with your partner and discuss it. :)

• @nookmyles it’s perfectly normal to need touch. As a species, we need touch for our well-being. There is absolutely no need to feel guilty about needing touch anymore than you would feel guilty for needing food or a shelter. What really concerns me is people who are touch adverse because I do seriously think there is something wrong with them. If you think about it when we lived in caves, people would sleep together in pile. Having personal space and keeping your distance is a pretty new idea as far as human history goes.

• @xandriarain we have pets and they prefer cuddling them over cuddling with people because of sensory issues so it isn't like they avoid it altogether, it's just a bit unconventional for them. Thank you though, and thank you @stormydaycuddle for validating that I'm not crazy here lmao

• The fact you're feeling this guilty & modest about your own needs speak volumes how much you care about your partner. Like stormy said, talk to them. Give them a chance to be as supportive of you as you are of them. 🙂

• Hey @nookmyles. Touch is a basic human need for most people.