Clients of Pros- how to detach emotionally at the end of a session?

Folks,
I am considering hiring a professional but I am pretty conflicted at the moment.

I have had limited experience cuddling strangers at group events, and also the facilitator when I found myself unable to connect with attendees.

How does one reconcile our status as Provider/Client with our status as Human Being/ Human Being?

I am afraid that a paid session might make me feel worse when it is over. I simply do not have the financial wherewithal to do that regularly. I can’t help but to think of the old joke about one’s mother having to tie a pork chop around their neck to get the dog to play with them.
After a lifetime of severe poverty of affection, my experience has been that a little touch is worse than none at all.

So what is the remedy? I guess I am seeking advice from professionals who have to navigate these waters regularly. How do you disconnect from your clients tenderly, and help them adjust to returning to their touch-less lives? How can I, as a client, reframe some of my feelings and emotional hunger in a way that will help me feel filled at the end of a session instead of discarded as one half of a transaction?

Ultimately, I have trouble seeing pro/client sessions as truly authentic connections- just a poor substitute for a wholly integrated and normal (e.g. unpaid) relationship that one would have with a friend, etc. I seek touch from a fellow human, not a robot. It’s hard to reconcile getting touch without the ability, due to professional boundaries, to get to know them as a person. Of course those boundaries need to be there, I’m just not convinced if working with a pro is the right thing for me to do right now.

Anyone, client or pro, willing to help me find a way to discover a perspective that would help me feel less emotionally bereft when the time is up? Right now, my inability to imagine what that would look like is holding me back.

Thanks you!

Comments