How to explain to family

Hello,

I'm kind of new to the idea of platonic cuddling. I've thought about the idea of it for a long time and wished it were appropriate. Only recently have I done some research and realized that it can be appropriate provided that you find someone else who understands it the same way you do.

I have since cuddled platonically with a friend of mine a few times. We basically just slept next to each other and cuddled all night. We were both fully clothed, and there was nothing sexual about it at all. He is a guy, and I am a girl, but we are honestly just friends and we are both on the same page about the fact that there is nothing else going on there.

Anyway, him, my sister, and I are going on a trip soon, and the two of us would like to cuddle at night the way we had those other times. The only thing is, my sister doesn't know that we've cuddled before, and I don't think she'll understand the idea of platonic cuddling. I don't want to not say anything beforehand and freak her out or make things awkward when my friend and I go to bed together, but I don't know how to explain it to her. I'm also scared she won't be able to understand that it's not inappropriate even though we're only friends and nothing more. It took me a long time to understand that it was okay to cuddle platonically, so I really don't want to just spring this on her and freak her out.

I hate the idea of having this conversation with her because I really don't think she'll understand and accept it, but I really want to cuddle with my friend on our trip. In order for that to happen without things being weird, I need to let her know beforehand.

How can I explain it to her in a way that she'll understand? And like, how can I ease her into the idea of platonic cuddling if it's something she's never even heard of before? And what if she won't accept that it's okay and appropriate and completely non-sexual?

Comments