I’m Not a Pro...Am I Wrong or Did He Overreact?

124»

Comments

• edited February 2020

@pmvines I can always count on you to cut through the BS and overanalysis and state the obvious that is not so obvious to so many. Keep it up! 👍

• [Deleted User]DarrenWalker (deleted user)

@Sideon says, "Sexiness is more than physicality. Sexiness is also intelligence, courtesy, literacy, charity, and for those who've been in long term relationships, silence is sexy as well."

Yes... and shoes are sexy, cars are sexy, cigarettes are sexy....

There's a difference between sexual attraction and, say, intellectual attraction leading to sexual attraction. I've noticed that for non-ace folks, pretty much every platonic attraction leads to a non-platonic one—but that doesn't mean platonic and non-platonic attractions are the same.

Why'm I being so stubborn about this? Well... @StoryDoctor1138 actually has something here.

See, I experience a type of attraction that I think's not appropriate for this site. It's platonic, yes. What this attraction draws me to do is neither sexual nor romantic. But it's also not generally considered friendly, so I think it's inappropriate for this site and I don't choose my cuddle buddies on the basis of it. It's not that I would ever act on it during a cuddle! But why fly against the spirit of the site by choosing only people I want to [redacted]?

True, other types of attraction can (and often do) lead me to this one. But that doesn't mean it's impossible for me to pick people purely on the basis of those other types of attraction.