What is the nerdiest thing you've done?

Back in 2013, I did algebra just for fun while watching online video lectures on it. This was before I was enrolled in a university. Now I'm studying to be an electrical engineer.

Comments

• [Deleted User]CharlesInWI (deleted user)

I've been a professional thug, musician, gamer, game developer, and crochet artist.

Everything I have done in my entire life is the nerdiest thing I have done.

I mean, I AM a nerd...

• edited July 2023

Absolutely nothing… from my perspective 😂

However, if you could ask my parents, they would probably mention the time when I was in my late teens and I disassembled the family room TV set (back when they were analog cathode ray tubes) and recalibrated the sharpness of the screen to get rid of a halo effect that was annoying me.

Or the radio controlled, self navigating robot I built in college (I steer it around the room or into another room with a wireless Atari joystick then it could automatically backtrack to me by itself). That isn’t really all that impressive today but this was back in the 1980s before the days of Raspberry Pi micro controllers. I had to do this with a home made circuit board from and discrete components I bought at Radio Shack.

• Participate in this forum.

• I'm an obsessive gamer and I always used to attend all the comic cons when I could afford them. That's kinda nerdy I guess.

Also:

• I think I was around 15 when I requested a 18 ft Doctor Who scarf. I got it as a present. I would wear it to conventions back then.

• @DaveTheBrit - Same here minus the comic con part. I never been to one yet. I put together an awesome gaming rig during the COVID pandemic because I wasn't getting any hugs so I need something to keep my sanity.

• The nerdiest thing I’ve ever done is earn a Ph.D. in Castilian and Aragonese medieval literature. 🤓

• edited July 2023
    • Back before they died out, played MUDs & MUSHes (text-based games online)